Tony Snow Will Be Leaving the White House

Tony Snow is going to leave his position as White House Press Secretary before the end of his boss’s term in office. Snow took over the job from Scott McClellan in May of last year, so he really has not been in the White House for very long.

In a radio interview with Hugh Hewitt, Snow said that he was leaving for financial reasons. He took a significant pay cut when he left Fox News to become the President’s spokesman.

I am not really sure how I feel about this news. I had kind of expected that Tony Snow would quit his White House job prematurely, but I thought it would be because of deteriorating health due to his colon cancer. Instead, he is resigning because he is not making enough money. He told Hugh Hewitt, “When my money runs out, then I’ve got to go.”

Of course, it is purely Tony Snow’s decision, and I don’t fault him for ending his short run as Press Secretary. It can be an extremely difficult and stressful position, and I imagine that it cannot be good for one’s health, cancer or not. I realize that Snow made a lot more money with a lot less stress when he was at Fox News, and that extra income definitely helped out with medical expenses.

But honestly, the man is not working for pennies in the White House. As Press Secretary, Snow is making over three and a half times the median income in the United States. Personally, I think I could live very well with what he is earning, and I bet most Americans would agree with me.

Leave a Reply

